Monday, September 13, 2010

Eye of the Crow by Shane Peacock

He avoids school to watch people in the square. He's quiet, thoughtful, and observant. His name is Sherlock Holmes. In 1867, he is thirteen. A brutal murder and a chance meeting with the accused spurs Sherlock to action. He believes Mohammad didn't kill the woman. He just has to prove it.

What I thought: Brilliant! If anyone has ever wondered why Sherlock Homes is the way he is, they need to read this series. His childhood makes his adult years comprehensible. His misanthropic ways were born in his youth. I look forward to reading the other books in the series. The Boy Sherlock Holmes series will pair well with the original Sherlock Holmes books by Conan Doyle, Laurie R. King's Mary Russell series, and Nancy Springer's Enola Holmes series.

Teen Sherlock fans should also check out the 1985 film Young Sherlock Holmes.

The Boy Sherlock Holmes series
1. Eye of the Crow
2. Death in the Air
3. Vanishing Girl
4. The Secret Fiend

(Boy Sherlock Holmes Book 1. New York: Tundra, 2007.)


Melissa said...

You review such a nice variety of books, Bridget! I love that it's a mix of ages and old and new. And the crib notes for appropriate storytime themes is appreciated!

I love Enola Holmes and can't wait to read the Boy Sherlock.


Bridget R. Wilson said...


I'm so glad you enjoy my blog. It's good to hear.